• No available translations found

The Pentateuch – Introduction (First part)

Jews call the sacred text “TANAK,” an acronym composed by the first letters of the three parts of  the Hebrew Bible: the Torah (the Law), Nevi’im (The Prophets), Ketuvim (The Writings). The Torah corresponds exactly to our Pentateuch (Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy). The Prophets are divided into “former prophets” and “latter prophets”. The former…

Continue reading

The Pentateuch – Introduction (Second part)

The word “Pentateuch” comes from the greek “Pentateuchos libros”. This Greek expression means “a book divided into five parts.” This designation indicates the nature of the Pentateuch. It is one book divided into five parts. This characteristic is clearly indicated by the name of the Pentateuch in the modern editions of the…

Continue reading

The Pentateuch – Introduction (Third part)

Let’s take the Pentateuch as a story, beginning to evaluate its characteristics. It is composed of three basic parts: Genesis 1-11:26 [at v. 26 ends the story of the origins]: God and humanity Genesis 11:27 [at v. 27 begins the Terach family’s story] -50:26: God and the Patriarchs (Abraham, Isaac and…

Continue reading